I once knew someone whose behavior was off the charts. She was overly dramatic, always chattering.  She talked like a woman with a true career while she struggled to take care of herself. In recent months, she’s been a repeat offender and ended up in jail for stealing and similar crimes.

Something about her behavior wasn’t right.  The last night I socialized with her, she got drunk and made a scene at the movie theatre. I vowed then and there not to go out in public with her anymore, thinking that she didn’t know how to conduct herself out among people (even among people in Ocala)!

I dropped her on Facebook after the second arrest.  I was tired of her putting on airs and then having this secret life that wasn’t honorable.  It didn’t sit well with me; I don’t hang out with jailbirds.

She called me recently and explained that she has early onset Alzheimer’s disease. This explains some of the scatterbrained behavior, the forgetfulness, the strange behavior.  She is in some program that is helping her work off her debt to society and will hopefully end up making an honest living there. She will also have support.

She is not the only person I’ve known who went to Ocala and then needed mental health care. I knew two hoarders, one who was quite paranoid and had difficulty handling regular life. I knew someone who was addicted to painkillers and drank a lot, crippled by personal problems.  I knew someone who had serious emotional problems and could barely function due to the anger she carried inside; she liked to talk about politics and social issues with fury, never managing a civil discussion with anyone with a different view.  I knew someone who struggled with addiction to various substances, who’s used NCFL as a resting place between jobs and jail time since he has family there. I know someone (else) who went to Ocala to get over a divorce/ broken heart; her anger is still with her, as far as I know.

But I am a bit distanced from all of this, no longer living there or being in touch.

I feel like I got out of there with my wits about me (for the most part).